Friday Photos and a Sexy Salad Dressing

I’m always snapping away at foodie stuff on my phone – with mixed results, but I’m bit better now I have the iPhone 5. Check.me. So I thought, rather than leave the pics clogging up my phone alongside the 2335 photos I already have in my one photo album, that I’d put them on here, on a Friday.

Friday photos will most likely have a foodie theme. But sometimes perhaps not. Sometimes I might want to just publish a photo of a pumpkin. And maybe the front cover of a book I wrote about a famous popstar, you know…

Ah, look…
>;

Pics 1 and 4: Orange flowers and pumpkins in hearth because I’ve embraced Halloween and Americana thanks to my obsession with US lifestyle blogs such as A Beautiful Mess. My work pals Clare and Ella are the same; we shamelessly spur each other on. We”re all going to try carving pumpkins this weekend and snap the results. Clare has suggested I roast the seeds. Maybe I’ll do something with the flesh too. Maybe not.

Pics 2 and 3: My book what I wrote about Adele that came out a couple of weeks ago and has pretty pictures and “absolutely amazing words” according to one music journalist (me).


Pics 5-8: A spinach and rocket salad made amazing with help of my “1,2,3 Salad Dressing”. So called because it contains: 1 tbsp of Dijon mustard, 2 tbsp of white wine vinegar and 3 tbsp of olive oil. Whisk with spoon till it looks almost creamy then pour on salad. Multiply measurements for more.

Next, the wall of The Delaunay Counter where I went for lunch with friend Katy and had the same dish as last time. A frittata with mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, spinach and Parmesan that I made for my dinner one night. And Julian’s new egg poaching gadget. Which is now in the bin. Because it might look cute in the photo but it was rubbish at poaching eggs. Unless you like your poached eggs to take an hour to cook and be a mix of both under-cooked and over-cooked.

Pics 9-10: My ruddy gorgeous nieces. Orla showing an early obsession for Russian dolls, like her aunt. And Freya in her new apron – made by mum – just about to take to the kitchen to decorate cupcakes. A more seasoned baker than myself, she learnt how to ice her sponges at playschool weeks ago.

Like Nigella, she likes to taste test her creations before bestowing upon her family and friends.

One thought on “Friday Photos and a Sexy Salad Dressing

Leave a Reply

