Monday Munch: Creamy Mushroom and Spinach Spaghetti


I cooked this last Wednesday while the kitchen was still in a state of semi-disarray. As you can see, the kitchen tiles are being held together, or apart, with plastic-y things. But, * sigh * I battled through.

I wanted something simple and healthy-ish after my mammoth week of dining out – the cream in the dish is actually low-fat creme fraiche – and something which incorporated ingredients, GET THIS, I already had in the cupboard.

This is my new thing. I’m getting a real buzz from Googling, sorry, concocting, meals out of stuff I just “have in”. I think perhaps anyone who’s ever cooked a meal in their life might do this a lot, but even so, who knew

And here is what I did (based on a lovely BBC Good Food recipe)

Ingredients

Wholemeal spaghetti
Tbsp olive oil
Half a bag of spinach for 2; whole bag for 4
12 mushrooms thinly sliced
2 crushed garlic cloves
1 tbsp of plain flour
Tub of low-fat creme fraiche (or full fat if you’re not going to Greece for a week at the end of the month)
Chopped spring onions – I did 4 but could have done 6, actually
S&P

Directions

Boil a pan of salted water for your pasta. Cook as much as you desire, according to packet instructions. My pasta took 12 mins which allowed me to do all the below while it was cooking. It was: perfect harmony.

Heat a tbsp of oil in a pan over medium heat

When warm, add garlic and spring onions and cook for a couple of mins till golden

Add mushies and cook for 7-8 mins

Chuck spinach in and when leaves begin to wilt, sprinkle your tbsp of flour over the lot and stir it in gently (this, I think, is to make the sauce a little thicker, but don’t quote me)

Take your pan off the heat for a second and tip in your tub of creme fraiche, stirring to make a delightful garlicky creamy sauce which will enter your nostrils and smell yumpstious

Drain your cooked pasta leaving it in your big pasta pan and pour sauce from saucepan in, then stir it all together

Then do a bad thing and great heaps of Parmesan all over the top thereby undoing all your good work on the bikini diet front

Creamy Mushroom and Spinach Spaghetti Stats

Kitchen cock-ups:
I’m still not great at mincing garlic, but I get by…
I think I overdid the cheese, from a bikini – not taste – point of view…

Listened to: Polica, Give You The Ghost, as recommended by Tara. Apparently Jay-Z loves this band too.

6 thoughts on “Monday Munch: Creamy Mushroom and Spinach Spaghetti

  1. Tip for crushing garlic. Chop it then sprinkle it with a bit of salt. Leave for about 5 mins chop a bit more then crush it with the back of a knife to a lovely smelling mush xx

  2. Defo plan to cook this one! Oh and I swapped the mincer for the grater years ago. Glad your enjoying a spot of Polica. Remember when you were on the stage at the IOW fest..? Oh maybe that was Jay-Z 😉 x

Leave a Reply

