Gwynnie P’s Hot Tuna Nicoise Salad

Hello, This used to be one of my go-to meals.

It’s chicken Supernoodles in a runny-ish sauce with halved cherry tomatoes and slabs of cheddar wodged on top.

But, look… after my I’d-quite-like-to-learn-to-cook-a-bit epiphany a couple of weeks ago, I reached for my un-thumbed Gwyneth Paltrow cookery book and ‘came up’ with this:

This is hot tuna nicoise salad BC – before cooking.

This is what I did (for two people. Double ingredients for four. This might be obvious to you, but if you’re like me, it’s not):

1) I roasted a red and yellow pepper in the oven for an hour on 200, left them to cool for 20 mins, then peeled them. Bit messy but I didn’t care, I’d cooked something. Once peeled, I ripped the peppers into rough strips, as per Gwynnie’s instructions.

2) I washed, chopped the ends off, and steamed a big old handful of green beans for four mins.

3) I chopped a load of cherry tomatoes in half. I was supposed to chop some little black olives in half too, but I forgot to buy them in Sainsbury’s.

4) Oh, I preheated the oven to about 200 degrees (is it degrees?)

5) Next, I put the peppers, the steamed beans, the cherry toms – and 12 anchovies from a tin – in a baking tray, with lots of ripped-up basil leaves. And squeezed lemon over it all.

6) I poured three tbsp of extra virgin olive oil (four tbsp for four people!) over the lot and scrunched the toms with my hands, because Gwyneth told me to.

7)Then I nestled two tuna steaks inside the lot, poured a little extra virg on them and rubbed them with a bit of sea salt and black pepper.

8) Then I took two eggs, I kid you not, and cracked them perfectly into two ramekins. This was the first time I’d ever cracked an egg. I Youtubed ‘cracking an egg’ beforehand and it ruddy well did the trick. I then drizzled, yup, a smidgeon of oil into the ramekins and popped in a touch of salt and pepper.

9) Then as per Ms Paltrow’s recommendations, I shoved it all in the oven for 12 mins.

Perhaps I left it in a little longer than that… It was really tasty but the egg wasn’t very runny and the tuna was a little less than tender. The juice from the anchovies, toms, oil, and lemon was really nice – but when I make it again, I will reduce my anchovy tally by six (I forgot I was only making this for two). Either that or get an intravenous water drip inserted for the next few hours.

Hey presto!

One thought on “Gwynnie P’s Hot Tuna Nicoise Salad

  1. As her mother you have no idea how long I have waited for her to cook and my pride in this attempt is overwhelming. I foresee great things, in serious competition to the boyf’s notorious great cooking skills..

Leave a Reply

